Dummy question about plywood materials

• PatricJ
  • Topic Author
More
13 years 4 months ago #10686 by PatricJ
Hi everyone, this should be an easy one and I think I may have the answer- but It's just a hunch:

Why are so many ply in the cabinet material so important? I'm thinking the more layers provides the greatest density (no air pockets) and a cleaner sound?

I used 11 or 13 ply baltic birch on my last build and it turned out beautifully. smiley20

Another thought or question I have is and since I'm not a pro is a, say, 5 ply 3/4" birch sheet going to be acceptable in a build. And is it really going to make a difference to a regular Joe like me? What are the advantages and disadvantages? That stuff is readily available down at the hardware store, but I'm wary of buying it.
I'd rather ask and find out as opposed to building "it" and finding out I made a big mistake smiley2 .

smiley5 smiley5 smiley5
Well, thanks for the information. You've taught me more than I already know. Right on!

I already know about the Chinese Birch that is available- it's junk from what I've heard, but I digress....

Cool, then. Thanks for the time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 4 months ago #10687 by bee
Replied by bee on topic Dummy question about plywood materials