Rebuilding my system. Need some direction due to wide variety of musical tastes

• jay michael
  • Topic Author
More
5 years 3 months ago #24340 by jay michael
Greetings from Canada.  I invested in a system about 12 years ago consisting of the following

6 - RCF4pro4001
www.prodance.cz/data/attachments/RCF%204...01-A%20datasheet.pdf
8 - RCF4pro8001-as
www.gtaust.com/product_details/category/...ss_Reflex_Sub-woofer

Managed using driverack pa2.  Great sounding system for house techno and live music.  Served us well for a festival we host 10 years running.  Where it doesn't shine is modern bass music, it falls flat at 40 hz and misses a ton of content with the bass tunes.  The festival books house techno dub psytrance live music even a bit of trap and dubstep.  Personally Ive been hosting and throwing psytrance parties for almost 20 years so it gets a bunch of use for that music style as well.  I have tried everything to get the system really tuned to get that fat and defined midbass and kick of the psytrance sound and it does a reasonable job but compared to how I have heard it on turbo sound or funktion 1 systems it doesn't even come close.

Moving on.  The RCF gear will be cycled down into a 2nd stage system and I want to assemble a new main stage system.  We don't need a ton of power, the system noted above covers us easily running at perhaps 60-70% power.  I prefer fat clean and warm sound at a level where people can hold a conversation without yelling. Dance floors from 100 to 300 people.

What I want. 

1. Minimum 35hz capable to cover modern bass music with ease.
2. It has to rule the unique midbass power of the psytrance sound in a smooth and powerful way
3. We have a trailer so cabinet size not a huge issue however keeping cabinets reasonably sized is preferred. 
4. Accurate voicing. My RCF tops do sound incredible and stand apart from many of the other systems around me. Don't want to take s step backwards.