effect of heat in chamber

• valvehead
  • Topic Author
More
11 years 2 months ago - 11 years 2 months ago #19538 by valvehead
effect of heat in chamber was created by valvehead
Just wondering if enclosure designer's take into account the effects of heat buildup within a scoop chamber, and its effect on air density? The reason I ask this is because (I'm a time served mechanical engineer) the temperature of the air drawn into the combustion chamber of an engine has a direct bearing on it's compression ratio.
In a scoop bin where the diaphragm is acting on the mass of air in the chamber which causes pressure through out the horn to move a much greater volume of air at the mouth will rely on the density of air in the chamber to efficiently couple to the air in the horn.
In the last decade, the power dissipated by modern high power drivers has risen and so has motor temperature. This must have an effect on on enclosure efficiency. Could this also be a factor in thermal compression ?
Last edit: 11 years 2 months ago by valvehead. Reason: didn't have time to write the whole post!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 2 months ago #19540 by bee
Replied by bee on topic Re: effect of heat in chamber
ive not read much on this, but yes is my opionion, any build up of heat in a chamber will change the compression ratio, i allways warm up my drivers before testing in any prototype im working on, to get a better graph plott of the cab....

• valvehead
  • Topic Author
More
11 years 2 months ago #19541 by valvehead
Replied by valvehead on topic Re: effect of heat in chamber
I think there would be an equation which would plot a chart for air density in relation to temperature. if that can all be quantified, we would need to find a way of keeping that space cool.