switchmode amplifiers for dub dances

• david
  • Topic Author
More
12 years 6 months ago #15377 by david
since the other thread is locked :silent: i will share my experience with lightweight amps on sub and roots/dub.
this is not a personal rant against anyone.
my problem with levyte isnt a personal issue, its that my experience is the opposite!

i'm not here to say i'm an expert, as i'm not, but i try to help people. i had 100kg of crest amps, great sound, now i have switchmode and my back is better...

if you go for big lightweights, they would perform great. ffa, lab gruppen, powersoft, i have heard or used them and they were as good as the best heavy amps.
i use ffa 10000 on sub and the sound is well suited to the digital dub its usually played on the soundsystem. it played at full power for 12+ hours, in very dusty places, with uk dub masters at the controls. 8 oh, 4 ohm, 2 ohm, no issues. its not warm as the older crest i had, the sound is cold and aggressive. its what i was looking for.
powersoft and big lab gruppen, they are as good as the ffa, dont know about their 2 ohm performance but i'm sure its up to their high standards.
crest pro series, not the heavy one....very good sound, but you cant compare a 9200 to a powersoft k10, theres too much power and price difference...
crown and qsc...i didnt use the best of the range and i was a bit disappointed, didnt sound too good and they were redlining early.

i was disappointed by the proel hpd series but its cheap and i use it as a spare amp. it sounds dry on tops and lacks power and definition on the bassline.
chinese copies...i have used/heard some. few of them sound bad and dont have the power. other (lab copies) have enough power for the price but i dont like the sound, lot of distortion, not a clear bassline.

if you wanna get big heavy amps, fine...but you wont be disappointed by switchmode if you get the best ones...even if you play roots/dub/dancehall.

smiley27