First build 18" G-sub, could use help

• alan_linn
  • Topic Author
More
9 years 10 months ago #21696 by alan_linn
First build 18" G-sub, could use help was created by alan_linn
Hi, this is my first build, i came at this with no experience whatsoever, most reading i did just lead to more questions so i just decided to start building and learn as i went. i decided to build this g-sub www.speakerplans.com/index.php?id=gsub
its built now and im deciding what drivers to buy, could i get away with buying cheaper drivers than say the fane collosus 18 xb? for example these are 18" and 1000w like the fane

www.amazon.co.uk/Pyle-Pro-PPA18-1000w-Pr...bwoofer+driver+1000w

if anyone could help by posting any cheaper drivers that pack about the same power, im not too fussed about quality in comparison. or if anyone has any tips about what i should be looking for in drivers that would be great.

on another note i will need to build speakers to go with the G-Sub and im sort of at a loss as to what to do? My friend told me that highs/tops speakers can literally just be a box with two holes in them for the drivers because they dont need the air pass stuff that subwoofers need. is this true, does anyone know what kind of box or boxes i should be building to go with the g-sub and does anyone know mids/ highs drivers that i should be buying that would go with an 18" gsub. if anyone has any answers to these questions i would be eternally grateful.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 10 months ago #21701 by bgrade
Replied by bgrade on topic First build 18" G-sub, could use help