Time Alignment/Delay

• neillakhansingh
  • Topic Author
More
11 years 9 months ago #18750 by neillakhansingh
Time Alignment/Delay was created by neillakhansingh
I'm not a sound engineer but I am curious how do you guys determine the delay for the bass cabinets and mid range? I have a hog scoop and I'm wondering how much would I have to delay my mid range but I don't know what to do. thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 9 months ago #18751 by Rog Mogale
Replied by Rog Mogale on topic Re: Time Alignment/Delay
Hi,

This is not as easy as you think to do correctly. I used to think you could just measure the distances from the drivers to the listening point and calculate the delays from that. I have even suggested that in one of my FAQ’s on the speakerplans website, but that was written around 12 years ago when my knowledge was not as good as it is now. I also have lots of hi end test gear now that can really let you see what’s going on in the time and phase domain, again something I didn’t have 12 years ago which led me to think differently about setting delays between bands.

I’m going to answer you question with a reply I made to someone that asked me about using X1 subs under some Stasys 8 cabs he owned. This will be different from you application as it sounds like you are not going to run 2 way bass. But it illustrates the point in that to do this properly you need test equipment and know how to use it to get the optimum delay times. (= a mate with a 30 day demo of Smaart, a laptop, an external USB sound card with 48V phantom power, a berry measurement mic and a brain).

Here is my reply to his question, which was “I need to set the delays between some Stasys 8’s and X1’s, can you tell me the path length from the driver to the front of the cabinet please”.

My reply: