Help with Cerwin Vega Cvi-218s double 18" wiring

• mrcoolbadguy
  • Topic Author
More
12 years 6 days ago #17159 by mrcoolbadguy
I took apart a pair of these cabinets to investigate cabinet vibration noise to find they were of piss poor construction quality, the internal braces didn't even come close to flush on one side with about a 1/4" gap, lots of splintered wood, the glue job was pitiful, they literally only hit about 50% of the joints, looked like they did whatever ones were easiest to reach and skipped everything else, and it's all held together by some glorified wood staples which missed in many spots as well. I also noticed that the wiring looked screwy but I'm not an expert. The wires coming out of the jackplate were correct +to + -to- but then going out of the first speaker in to the second went +to- -to+. Is this possibly because the speakers are oriented firing contrary to each other? Or did they screw that up too? Or am I just screwed up on the wiring?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 6 days ago #17197 by jbinks
If the speakers are pointing in opposite directions (ie: on facing out, the other facing in) then that wiring is correct.

Shame to hear about the build quality. It might be an idea to get in there with some glue and screws to firm things up a bit. It will certainly help improve resonance issues and stop any vibrations etc.

Cheers,
John

• mrcoolbadguy
  • Topic Author
More
12 years 5 days ago #17233 by mrcoolbadguy
Replied by mrcoolbadguy on topic Help with Cerwin Vega Cvi-218s double 18" wiring