file First build/refurbish attempt

12 years 6 months ago #15285 by bjclhb
First build/refurbish attempt was created by bjclhb
Good afternoon all!

I'm new to freespeakerplans and am super keen on building some speakers. My housemate (who's a cabinet maker with all the tools) and I are going to try our hand at building a pair of X1 subs which be used mostly for small parties playing house, prog, trance etc.

However a few days ago my neighbor was throwing out a pair of Celestion Ditton 25's (mycolectionditton.com/Ditton25.html) The drivers and wiring is all a bit ratty so its been removed and we were planning on just refurbing them for some home hi-fi speakers but then thought about possibility of using the boxes (which are really solidly built and in great condition) to build 2 mid-top boxes.

So being completely new to this my question is, would it be worthwhile using these boxes for the purpose of building a small PA? If it does prove worthwhile does anyone have any suggestions/tips that we should factor in before we get started such as recommended drivers, replacing the tweeter with a horn etc etc?

Thanks in advance :-D

Ben!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

12 years 5 months ago #15360 by bjclhb
Replied by bjclhb on topic First build/refurbish attempt
No suggestions or advice from anyone? Even a yes or no would be helpful as to whether I should spend any time on these or just invest my energy in building from scratch (building the boxes etc)

12 years 5 months ago #15365 by Tony Wilkes
Replied by Tony Wilkes on topic First build/refurbish attempt
You could try a couple of cheap 12" P.A. Driver in there (Celestion Truvox range or similar) and a 1" comp. You would need to get some reflex ports sorted out as well. PVC tubes are probably the best to fit in a box like this, assume 2 x 100 dia, length to be calculated. The ports could go on the back as baffle space looks restricted.