Greetings speaker Gods (and Goddesses?),

More
10 years 1 month ago #21507 by keith
I'm Keith from Cincinnati, Ohio. My guess is that I know enough to be dangerous and am ignorant enough to irritate. I'll try to limit both.

A small group of musician friends and I (I'm enough of a musician to recognize a good one when I hear one) have begun hosting very small music festivals. As I am the music tech geek of us, I have been tasked with the venue's PA (and DMX lighting as I was a professional photog for many years). The venue is a psuedo outdoor teepee. Imagine a 30 foot diameter teepee frame, half covered or skinned with metal roof sheets. It makes for kind of an amphitheater effect and has a very cool vibe for live shows. I'm sure the sheet metal could be improved upon greatly, however this parameter is outside my scope of influence. The open side of the teepee looks out on a "yard" that gently slopes up and measures about 30' wide and 60' to 70' long. Musical styles range from Blue Grass to Blues to Cowboy Junkies to James Gang type stuff. I'm not trying to push hip hop or Dub step. Volume level usually falls to where I need to mic the kick (and sometimes the snare a bit) of the drum kit but the cymbals mix well without amplification.

I'm currently using plastic speakers in my rig. (I know, I know. But that's why I'm here.) I have 2 used EV Sx200s and 2 of the matching "bass modules" (EV can't even get themselves to call them subs) the Sb120s. I also have 2 more Sx200s with blown HF drivers someone recently gifted me. I do not care for the standard pole mounted cabs on either side of the stage. I have been flying the whole rig in a poor man's single point set up directly over center stage. Well, as close to single point as I can create so far.

I've always been a tinkerer (even have a patent for one idea) and I'm way too obsessive to leave well enough alone. That is what brings me here.