Scoops and techno

• tintek
  • Topic Author
More
11 years 10 months ago #18111 by tintek
Scoops and techno was created by tintek
Not used in the same sentence much im sure but has anyone ever had good experiences with scoops playing techno? I know bandpass horns are the norm because they can easily reproduce the fast punchy frequencies that this sort of music is based on . . . but what about with more modern scoops for example the ligwa earthshakers, hogs, rhinos etc?

Im a complete newbie to scoops so forgive me if this a is a certain no go. just thought id ask the question.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 10 months ago #18115 by bee
Replied by bee on topic Scoops and techno
yes, most of the house, hardcore and raves used to have scoops in the stacks....... I done a gig the other week, where i used 2 full scoops on there sides centre of stage, and 1 stack of 2 bass cabs a side with tops. The music on the night was tech house, electro house and some old skool...... sounded very good, the only downer was i could only run the scoops at half power as the building was shaking way too much..... I will be using a very simula setup in a few weeks time..... the scoops where run in mono...... but could of been run in stereo if i wanted just 2 stacks.......

More
11 years 10 months ago #18117 by Ollie_N
Replied by Ollie_N on topic Scoops and techno
Hiya, I have a different experience, basically we use a set up of 15" reflex kick bins and 3 mini scoops sounds great on Jungle etc. but we did a gig where they played techno and they just really didnt cut it from the listeners perspective, not much output from the rig at all, i think that if u want to play this kind of music you need to use a long throw kick bin like a hd15 etc. and have 1 for every scoop that you have.

Check out this video its a different gig to what i was talkign about but you can hear the difference between and oldskool track and a jungle track.