need advice with dual 10\" line array box

• b52productions
  • Topic Author
More
15 years 6 months ago #4657 by b52productions
need advice with dual 10\" line array box was created by b52productions
hello, yes i am a newbie. i have built a few tuba 36's and they go low. but now i need some good midrange and hi's. my idea is to build some dual 10" 2 -ways and line array them so i can get a better low end to get the punch the tuba's are missing.

hopefully about 4 boxs per side suffice. the only problem i see is the crapy x-over point wich im trying to get around 2khz. but i plan on using active x-over so i can adjust for diffrent drivers.

i have included my first hornresp images since this is the first time ive used it so please check it over.. and i cant find a way to model the 2-drivers instead of one since each has its own horn.

any help will be greatly appreciated!!

thanks
dudley

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 years 6 months ago #4660 by deadbeat
Replied by deadbeat on topic need advice with dual 10\" line array box
Check this:
freespeakerplans.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=451
freespeakerplans.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=457

You need to read up on basic LA theory first, as well. Meyer have a nice article, and there are others.

But first - you have to ask why LA?

Beranek\'s law
\'bits of ply round a driver\'

• b52productions
  • Topic Author
More
15 years 6 months ago #4662 by b52productions
Replied by b52productions on topic need advice with dual 10\" line array box
if im going to build my own tops i want something that i can use in the future.
i figure i could stack 4 per side maybe with a diy phase plug verticly orientated . this should eleminate a seperate mid/ kick boxs... i just want 1 box design to cover 150hz->up and be easy to transport. so keeping my option in the future open i figured LA would be my best answer.. all i would have to do is build more of the same boxes.