Tapped Horn corrections needed ?!

• jdfwessels
  • Topic Author
More
10 years 6 months ago #20637 by jdfwessels
Tapped Horn corrections needed ?! was created by jdfwessels
Greetings,

As a new member I would like your opinion (share experience) about the THAM12 tapped horn. I have been building speakers and horns since 1970 and just re-entered the speaker building arena . My target is to design and build equipment for musicians, me being a bass player, and the 2 bands I play in need a portable PA.

So the target is, small boxes with great sound, rock solid and affordable. I surfed the internet and ran upon Danley and the tapped horn. Small (check) great sound (apparently, as being commented as great speakers by many of you), rock solid (depends on material and construction), affordable (DIY).

Than I found the THAM12 and a ISO-view of the Danley TH115. The ISO-view is hard to read, but after some staring at what the construction was, I noticed 2 real differences (apart from a different way of folding).

1 - The speaker coupled to the horn is like it is done in all horns which are designed by the book in the Danley TH115, not so in the THAM12.
2 - The folded horn has 45 degree panels to help the air "around the corner" in the Danley Horn, partly NOT so in the THAM.

Question on 1 - Most designs found in forums do NOT have an adjusted loudspeaker panel to couple the speaker to the Horn. In the Horn design theory it says you need to calculate the effective surface of the speaker in question and use this number to determine the start surface of the horn. So a 12 inch speaker has a effective surface of say 530 square cm. If the tapped horn has an internal width of 32 cm, the opening for the speaker will be 530 / 32 = 16,5 cm and not a perfect circle of 28 cm.

What is the reason for NOT using this design theory (it is NOT complex to build, just a different shape of the loudspeaker panel (figure 1 shows this theory)